First Blog Post

By Alex Leung

This is my first blog post.

Creating My Website

If you take a peek at the repository of this website, it is created with Astro. Initially my website was created in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, but I didn’t want to salvage it further, so that’s why I never made it public.

I think it was worth rewriting my website in Astro since the learning curve isn’t too difficult for a site like this. The sources I used were the Astro blog tutorial, AqingCyan’s website (repo does not exist anymore), and the Astro documentation. I took heavy design inspiration from AqingCyan’s website because it aligned with what I wanted: clean and simple.

You may have noticed that the minimal blog template Lilian I created a few months ago has some resemblance, so that’s when I initially took the design inspiration from. I looked at a handful of blog designs but I always went back to AqingCyan’s because that’s what I liked the most.

Small note: I don’t recommend users to use Lilian as their main blog template. It was really just a project to learn how to create a blog from scratch. If you want a decent blog template, you can fork/clone this website.

Blog Writing

Having an internet trail in a form of a blog attached to your name can be scary. Despite being posted on your own website, you need to make sure the posted content isn’t going to come back and haunt you in the future.

To be honest, I hope that writing blog posts will help with my fear of sharing things on the internet. Of course, I will carefully analyze the content I post so there will be less misconceptions.